Picture
anpanman!
Which of the questions you’ve posted (if any) would lead to a research project that is (1) interesting and (2) feasible? 
1. Rank the top three in order. (If you don’t like three, come up with enough new ideas to fill a standard size-3 idea satchel.)
2. Next to each, note briefly:

    •    (a) what disciplines or areas of study this project might fall under;

    •    (b) what might be resources for gathering information on this topic; and

    • (c ) how you might either expand or narrow the parameters





Top three questions: 
What is the future of Japanese agriculture and its effect on the culture of food?
 a.)  Agriculture, technology, environment, ecology, economics
  
b.) Articles such as  Agriculture in Japanese History: a general survey by K. Asakawa in 1929 could then be compared to more recent articles like the article Japan’s Rice Farmers Fear Their Future Is Shrinking by Fackler in 2009. Also, statistics on imports and exports and movement of people away from rural areas. I also think I can draw comparisons to U.S. agriculture. I might also be able to interview a farmer in Japan on his feelings about agriculture now and how it is affecting him today. 

c.) I might try to incorporate my other question, “ How does the landscape of Japan translate into the Japanese food cultures?” into this question. I could talk about how the landscape has channeled agriculture/culture in one direction and how those ways are being further shifted due to influences from technology, environmental changes, economics, culture and how that essentially affects Japan’s food culture. 

How does the landscape of Japan translate into the Japanese food cultures?

a.) I think this would ideally be a part of question 1, but standing alone I think it would be looking into the history of Japan,  ecology, environment and its changes and how this has played a role in affecting how certain regional food cultures have developed over time into what they are “represented” as today.

b.) A good place to start might be this book, The Conquest of Ainu Lands: Ecology and Culture in Japanese Expansion, 1590 - 1800 by Brett Walker. Hopefully I could find some more specifically food related pieces and broader books/articles on Japan’s history in landscape/boundaries, then relate between and create my own “map” of food through time. 

c.) Once again I think it would be nice to combine this with question 1. However, if I was going to make this separate I might expand on the idea of landscape and compare it to other countries of similar landscape and see how they developed similarly or not and if it was the landscape that made those differences happen. 

How does food culture play a role in the arts of Japan?

a.) I could look into art history and music history to find evidence of food. Also maybe going into the kaiseki idea more, because that is an art form in itself and studies on popular culture evolution...

b.) Now that I’m looking it is kind of difficult to find examples of food used in art through history, since that was more popularly nature and food in the arts appears to be a more recent phenomenon. Therefore I could look at the pop culture today; the anime, pop artists, manga, lyrics, music videos, cute characters (anpan man etc..) and fashion and then draw my own ideas for how this happened and how it affects the actual “food culture” surrounding this. 

c.) I think I might have to not only look at food in pop culture/arts but also how this influences body image/eating habits of Japanese (especially young people) and how it has really helped to change the food habits of Japanese today.


Dylan
9/24/2012 04:08:25 am

I think that the first two questions are a little too broad, I enjoy the third question because it ties in the idea of culture and the food culture which are very relatable. I also think that you could definitely tie in body image which is very interesting in Japan

Reply
Katelyn
9/24/2012 06:39:26 am

I like the idea of combining the first two questions, although I agree that they might be a little too broad right now. Of course, you have plenty of time to narrow the idea down! Maybe you could focus on specific regions of interest (my personal favorite is Kansai but you probably have another place in mind) and look into how the climate/landscape shaped the food culture of those places.

Reply
Zoe Madonna
9/24/2012 07:47:41 am

I like the third question; I've definitely seen food show up both as art and in art, especially in manga. It'd be interesting to see a survey of that topic! Of course, I'm more interested in the humanities side of things than the sciences side, so I'm a tad biased.

Reply
jason
9/24/2012 12:15:12 pm

Nice questions! #1 is difficult because “the future” is hard to research. But you could try to look at how agronomists and farmers are looking to the future and planning on sustaining certain food traditions (or at least producing the raw materials). The sense of “crisis” has been building as Japanese officials worry about domestic food production… I like the idea of comparing the two articles. You could also try to find food-related science fiction.
#2 is interesting if you are talking about geography and climate. “Landscape” means something else entirely. But it might be just as useful to explore how the natural environment and the fact of being a mountainous island nation is written about or discussed as factoring into the diet and cuisine.
#3 You could look at food as art (or vice versa) or try to find depictions of food in other artistic forms and media. I don’t know if you are interested in formal aesthetics, per sé, or if you want to be more democratic in your exploration of representations of food culture.

Reply



Leave a Reply.